Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Art at the "Don't Fear The Ripper" starts tomorrow

I was stoked to have the opportunity to do a piece for this show. Thanks to Desiree Astorga who is a talented artist/photographer and the curator of the show. Both curated by and featuring artist/photographer Desiree Astorga the upcoming “Rip the Ripper” artshow is a celebration honouring the iconic Powell and Perelta “Ripper” logo which has been an icon in the lives of skateboarders and artists alike for over 30 years. As a result of it’s vintage ” The Ripper” has been ripped off on many occasions, but now for the first time an official selection of over 50 artists have been invited to ‘Rip the Ripper’ legitimately, amongst those are names such as Shepard Fairley, Don Pendleton and Wes Humpston
The show also features a work by VCJ (Vernon Courtland Johnston) the man who penned the original “Ripper” logo himself.
The show premiers at this years ASR January 22-24 in San Diego, but for those of you who aren’t industry insiders the pieces will be available for purchase at a fixed price on Ebay linkable directly from the Skateone website Jan 26th 2009 at 12:00pm eastern time. If you miss the show and sale a book will also be available on shortly after the event.
We were asked to compose their interpretation of the unmistakable graphic.
The show starts Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 - 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM

San Diego ASR at the San Diego Convention Center
Meeting Room 28B
An art show of epic proportions. January 2009 ASR.
Over 40+ artists have been invited to 'Rip the Ripper' and celebrate the Ripper's influence on skateboarding since his introduction.

We each get a printed book of the final art presented at the show which will be printed by Powell. Very cool.
Work in progress shot. I wanted to show all the skaters that were part of the Powell from day one. Stacy Peralta, Tony Hawk, Steve Caballero, Tommy Guerrero, Danny Way, Scott Foss, Adrian Demain, Alan “Ollie” Gelfand, Jim Thiebaud, Ray Barbee, Ray Underhill, Ray Rodriguez, Per Welinder, Doug Smith, Sean Mortimer, Aaron Astorga, Salman Agah, Bucky Lasek, Rodney Mullen, and many more. All proceeds of my piece if sold will go directly to Board Rescue. Non-Profit.

No comments: